Championship League Returns at New Venue

Championship League Returns at New Venue

News December 31st, 2016

The 2017 Championship League Snooker commences at its new home, the Ricoh Arena, Coventry, on January 2nd.

Group One sees Anthony McGill making his tournament debut alongside David Gilbert, Ryan Day, Matthew Selt, Ben Woollaston, Mark Davis and Robert Milkins.

Seven groups of seven players produce seven winners who play in one further group to determine the winner of the 2017 Championship League.

In each group every player will play each other once in a best of five frame match (21 matches) after which the top four players will contest in the play offs; semi finals and final over the best of five frames.

Players will be awarded one point for each match won, then most frames won and the least frames lost in the league series will determine their position in the league table. Dead frames will not be played in either the league or knock-out stages.

The play-off winner will progress to the Winners’ Group of Championship League Snooker while the players coming sixth and seventh in the group will be relegated and will not feature in any further group matches.

Working in partnership with Perform, the world’s leading internet sports specialist, the 2017 Championship League Snooker can be viewed on a variety of bookmaker’s websites.

For full details on how to obtain this service, please visit the participating sites to see their respective terms and conditions.

Live scoring will be available via

Watch Live at Matchroom.Live

sign up now
Matchroom Live