News August 31st, 2020

The draw for Championship League Snooker has been made with Judd Trump set to get the new season underway at Stadium MK when the tournament breaks off on Sunday, September 13.

Trump is the seeded player in Group One, where he will be joined by Alan McManus, David Lilley and Fan Zhengyi. On the same day, Group Two will take place with Matthew Stevens, Ryan Day, Rod Lawler and Paul Davison featuring.

World Champion Ronnie O’Sullivan will enter the fray in Group 32 on Monday, October 5, concluding the second and final week of Stage One action. ‘The Rocket’ has been drawn to face Hang Li, Alex Borg and Iulian Boiko in his group.

Luca Brecel, who won the summer’s Championship League as snooker marked the return of live sport after the Covid-19 shutdown, has been drawn into Group 27 where he will face Tom Ford, Mitchell Mann and Ashley Hugill.

Players were seeded according to their World Ranking after the World Snooker Championship. Seeds 1-32 were automatically placed into the group number corresponding with their seeding, while the remaining 96 players were split into three groups based on seeding, with one player from each pot (33-64, 65-96 and 97-128) drawn at random into each group. Groups for Stages Two and Three are seeded so that Stage Two Group A will consist of the winner of Stage One groups containing seeds 1, 16, 17 & 32. Group B will consist of the winner of groups containing seeds 8, 9, 24 & 25 and so on.

Following the unprecedented success of this summer’s Championship League, the event has been expanded to a full WST ranking event feature 128 players over 21 days, split into three weeks across September and October.

  • STAGE ONE will be played across two blocks of eight days: September 13-20 and September 28–October 5. This stage features 32 groups of four players, with two tables per day hosting one group each. The player who tops each group will progress to Stage Two.
  • STAGE TWO (October 26-29) sees the 32 group winners split into eight further groups of four, with two groups per day also played over two tables.
  • STAGE THREE (October 30) will see the eight Stage Two Group Winners battle it out over two final groups, with the two group winners contesting the best-of-5 final.

The popular group format employed during the summer’s Championship League will return to the event, which is promoted by Matchroom Multi Sport and will use Rasson tables, which have proved popular at the Champion of Champions and previous Championship League Snooker events.

Each group of four is a round robin, with matches played as best-of-four frames. Players are awarded three points for a win and one point for a draw. Players who conclude the group on an equal number of points will be separated, in this order, by net frame difference, head-to-head result and, if the players are still tied, by the highest break achieved in the group.

Championship League Snooker will be played across two Rasson tables, with one group per table. Table numbers for each group will be confirmed along with timings, fixtures and broadcast details in due course.



Sunday, September 13 Monday, September 14
Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Judd Trump Matthew Stevens Gary Wilson Barry Hawkins
Alan McManus Ryan Day Robert Milkins Sam Craigie
David Lilley Rod Lawler Chen Zifan Jackson Page
Fan Zhengyi Paul Davison Jamie Jones Ben Hancorn

Tuesday, September 15


Wednesday, September 16

Group 5 Group 6 Group 7 Group 8
Stephen Maguire Zhou Yuelong Matthew Selt Shaun Murphy
Louis Heathcote Ricky Walden Ben Woollaston Martin O’Donnell
Dominic Dale Gerard Greene Si Jiahui Jimmy White
Leo Fernandez Jianbo Zhao Yang Gao Peter Devlin

Thursday, September 17


Friday, September 18

Group 21 Group 10 Group 18 Group 12
David Gilbert Zhao Xingtong Xiao Guodong Stuart Bingham
Lu Ning Liam Highfield Hossein Vafaei Yuan Sijun
Xu Si Nigel Bond Jak Jones James Cahill
Aaron Hill Oliver Brown Farakh Ajaib Junxu Pang

Saturday, September 19


Sunday, September 20

Group 13 Group 14 Group 15 Group 16
Jack Lisowski Graeme Dott Michael Holt Mark Selby
Ian Burns Liang Wenbo Anthony Hamilton Lyu Haotian
Fraser Patrick Soheil Vahedi Jamie O’Neill Brandon Sargeant
Rory McLeod Zak Surety Sean Maddocks Fergal O’Brien



Monday, September 28 Tuesday, September 29
Group 17 Group 11 Group 19 Group 20
Neil Robertson Anthony McGill Thepchaiya Un-Nooh Yan Bingtao
Andrew Higginson Alexander Ursenbacher Sunny Akani Stuart Carrington
Eden Sharav Riley Parsons Peter Lines Jordan Brown
Ken Doherty Lukas Kleckers Lee Walker Michael White

Wednesday, September 30


Thursday, October 1

Group 9 Group 22 Group 23 Group 24
Mark Allen Scott Donaldson Jimmy Robertson Kyren Wilson
Luo Honghao Chris Wakelin Mark King Daniel Wells
Billy Castle Barry Pinches David Grace Duane Jones
Jamie Wilson Ashley Carty Allan Taylor Kuldesh Johal

Friday, October 2


Saturday, October 3

Group 25 Group 26 Group 27 Group 28
John Higgins Kurt Maflin Tom Ford Mark Williams
Joe O’Connor Martin Gould Luca Brecel Mark Joyce
Amine Amiri Igor Figueiredo Mitchell Mann Lei Peifan
Brian Ochoiski Simon Lichtenberg Ashley Hugill Jamie Clarke

Sunday, October 4


Monday, October 5

Group 29 Group 30 Group 31 Group 32
Joe Perry Ali Carter Noppon Saengkham Ronnie O’Sullivan
Elliot Slessor Mark Davis Tian Pengfei Hang Li
Kacper Filipiak Chang Bingyu Robbie Williams Alex Borg
Steven Hallworth Jamie Curtis-Barrett Oliver Lines Iulian Boiko




Monday, October 26 Tuesday, October 27
Group A Group B Group C Group D
Winner Group 1 Winner Group 5 Winner Group 9 Winner Group 13
Winner Group 2 Winner Group 6 Winner Group 10 Winner Group 14
Winner Group 3 Winner Group 7 Winner Group 11 Winner Group 15
Winner Group 4 Winner Group 8 Winner Group 12 Winner Group 16

Wednesday, October 28


Thursday, October 29

Group E Group F Group G Group H
Winner Group 17 Winner Group 21 Winner Group 25 Winner Group 29
Winner Group 18 Winner Group 22 Winner Group 26 Winner Group 30
Winner Group 19 Winner Group 23 Winner Group 27 Winner Group 31
Winner Group 20 Winner Group 24 Winner Group 28 Winner Group 32




Friday, October 30

Group 1


Group 2

Winner Group A Winner Group E
Winner Group B Winner Group F
Winner Group C Winner Group G
Winner Group D Winner Group H


THE FINAL – Friday, October 30

Winner Group 1 vs Winner Group 2
(best of 5)

Watch Live at Matchroom.Live

sign up now
Matchroom Live